Cinematography: Using A Film Camera

Cinematography: Using A Film Camera

I had the opportunity to use a film camera. Well, putting in the film and putting together the camera. It required patience… a lot of patience to put in the film. At first looking at the tutor trying to put the film in the camera, it looked pretty hard but eventually got it. We were able to use a ARRI SR3 and a 416.

Using a Film Camera

Journey To Knowing

ARRI 416

Had the opportunity to use a film camera. Was working with an ARRI 416 and SR3. Setting the camera up and looking in the to the lens was amazing. The image looked up side down at first but we had to click and turn a button. I'll make another blog diving in to using the film camera.

I was able to learn how to put in a film correctly which was really fun. I was able to put the film through to the other side first try but had to take it out because I had to have 14 frames but there were only 10( Which looking back now think I counted it wrong). So had to redo that which was a hassle but managed in the end.

I didn't get to try loading the film for the 416 but maybe I'll have the chance next time.

0:00
/0:07

With The ARRI SR3

Here is us working on the ARRI SR3. We actually used a monitor with the camera this time. The build between the two were similar but felt like the SR3 was a bit easier or maybe because I did the ARRI416 first.

Here is me attempting to put in film in the SR3:

Click the link to see the hustle!