The Sound Of Piano

The Sound Of Piano

Sometimes when I feel I need music, I go to the place that will give that to me, the piano. I don't have a lot of time to do the things I want to do but when I feel I need a getaway from work, I go to the piano and play. I go to do something that I enjoy and helps me relax and think.

We have all experienced a time where you're running out of ideas. The first thing that comes to your mind is to do something out of the context of your work. If you are playing the guitar and can't seem to be getting it right, you either go for a walk or watch a movie. Austin Kleon talks about when he runs out of ideas, he goes and makes rockets with his son.

Music is like a painkiller for me. I have a pain finding an idea I go to the piano and it cures me. Not only the piano helps me, but it calms me from my life. I used to stress over things easily which resulted a lot of hair pulling, also called Trichotillomania. I was pulling my hair out so much that top of my head didn't have any hair anymore (Just a little patch). I went to the hair dresser to wash my hair and she saw the patch. She then told my mother and we went to the chemist to get a spray that can help my hair grow back. It worked. It slowly grew back but it was a pain trying not to pull it.

The thing is, I stopped playing the piano before I started pulling my hair. I didn't go back and start playing the piano immediately because it never crossed my mind. I try to control myself to not pull my hair.

It became one of my habits that I fixed. I started getting in to it again when I moved here to the UK and started working on my career and school projects. My aunt has a piano and I still go and play the piano when I need to. I asked for some stress balls for my birthday and they do help. I just have to get in to the habit of having a stress ball with me.  I still have the habit of pulling my hair but I don't pull it all the time anymore. Baby steps to success.

Find an activity that will be your get away from the stressful work, find something that will make you feel better.

" Ideas don't come from sitting in front of the computer, it comes from taking a break to focus on yourself"